The LATECE (Laboratoire de Recherches sur les Technologies du Commerce Électronique) research lab explores the technological (mostly), business, social, and ethical issues of internet applications. LATECE was founded in 2002 by six professors from the département d’informatique of UQAM, specializing in software engineering, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, and telecommunications. Today, LATECE boats 15 regular researchers and 10 associate researchers from 9 research institutions and 4 countries (Canada, Netherlands, USA, Sweden). Since 2010, our regular members have published over 400 papers, supervised more than 250 students and post-doctoral researchers, and earned more than 6,000,000 in research funds.

The LATECE maintains a network of collaborations with a number of labs both within UQAM, and outside of UQAM– and Canada!

  • LARIM (UQO):  Laboratoire de Recherche sur l’Information Multimédia (LARIM) conducting research on multimedia data mining
  • PolyMORSE (Polytechnique Montréal): Polytechnique Montréal Researchers in Software Engineering
  • LASI (ETS) The Laboratoire en Architecture de Systèmes Informatiques, conducting research in information system and software architecture
  • SLTS (ESG-UQAM):  Smart Logistics and Transportation Systems.
  • GRISQ (UQAM): Groupe de Recherche sur l’Information et la Surveillance au Quotidien, conducting research on sociological and ethical issues involved in data mining (“big data”) and surveillance
  • GDAC (UQAM):  Laboratoire de Recherche en Gestion, Diffusion et Acquisition de Connaissances, conducting research in knowledge representation, acquisition, and management, with applications in e-learning
  • SPIRALS (INRIA-Lille): Le LATECE holds a formal–and funded– status as an INRIA Associate team with the SPIRALS (Self-Adaptation for Distributed Services and Large Software Systems) team at INRIA-Lille.
 
  • Our mission

Our research aims at developing models, techniques, tools, and languages for the business design, software engineering, deployment, and exploitation of internet applications that are operational, innovative, effective, efficient, secure, and socially responsible.

The LATECE has three complementary missions :

  • Advancing the state of the art in internet applications through funded fundamental and applied research, working jointly with users and creators of such applications.
  • The training of highly-qualified personnel in internet technologies: currently, LATECE hosts over one hundred graduate students and postdoctoral researchers, who are acquiring highly prized technical skills combined with a profound understanding of the multidisciplinary nature of the underlying challenges
  • Knowledge dissemination and transfer, through a highly attended regular seminar series and an international conference on Internet technologies (International MCETECH Conference on eTechnologies, see www.mcetech.org).
  • Our values :

Even though we work on an eminently technical field, we have quite a bit of latitude in, i) choosing which problems to work on, ii) choosing solution approaches, and iii) choosing how we share the results:

  • Science with conscience[1]: The internet pervades all the spheres of human activity, and manages the bulk of our social and business interactions. Whether we like it or not, our research contributes directly, or indirectly, the actual or potential, benefits or pitfalls, of internet applications, and raise social and ethical questions (security, privacy, profiling, surveillance, etc.). We acknowledge these dimensions, and address them in our research.
  • Open source software: In our work, we use a wide range of software tools, both commercial, and academic (research prototypes). We stronmgly believe in the open-source model, and we constantly seek to contribute to the open-source ecosystem whenever our funding organizations allow it– and most do.
  • Grounded in its milieu, open to the world: We take at heart this UQAM value. At  LATECE, we work tirelessly to develop partnerships with developers of Internet applications (innovative IT companies, ranging from start-ups to multinationals with an presence R&D in Québec), and their users who are often public organizations (Héritage Canada, Ville de Montréal, hospitals, etc.), in Montréal, Québec, Canada, and abroad. Our current and past partners include Ericsson, Expedia, Fujitsu, IBM, Orckestra, SAP, Trisotech, Ubisoft, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (www.unctad.org), and XEROX PARC (N.Y., USA).
Executive committee  
   
    Jean Privat Assistant director        Hafedh Mili         Director      Wessam Ajib   Assistant director
 
[1]” Science sans conscience n’est que ruine de l’âme” – Rabelais

Le LATECE est un Centre Institutionnel de Recherche qui s’intéresse aux aspects technologiques–principalement– mais aussi métiers, sociaux, et éthiques, des applications internet. Créé en 2002 par un premier noyau de six professeurs du département d’informatique spécialistes en génie logiciel, intelligence artificielle, systèmes distribués, et télécommunications, il regroupe aujourd’hui 15 chercheurs réguliers, et 10 chercheurs associés, issus de neuf institutions de recherche, et 4 pays (Canada, États Unis, Hollande et Suède). Depuis 2010, les chercheurs réguliers ont publié près de 400 articles, ont supervisé plus de 250 stagiaires postdoctoraux et étudiant-e-s aux trois cycles, et se sont vu décerner plus de $ 6,000,000 en fonds de recherche.

Le LATECE tisse des liens avec plusieurs groupes de recherche, autant à l’UQAM, qu’à l’extérieur de l’UQAM–et du Canada!

  • LARIM (UQO):  Laboratoire de Recherche sur l’Information Multimédia (LARIM
  • PolyMORSE (Polytechnique Montréal): Polytechnique Montréal Researchers in Software Engineering
  • LASI (ETS) The Laboratoire en Architecture de Systèmes Informatiques.
  • SLTS (ESG-UQAM):  Smart Logistics and Transportation Systems.
  • GRISQ (UQAM): Groupe de Recherche sur l’Information et la Surveillance au Quotidien.
  • GDAC (UQAM):  Laboratoire de Recherche en Gestion, Diffusion et Acquisition de Connaissances.
  • SPIRALS (INRIA-Lille): Le LATECE détient le statut d’Équipe Associée avec l’équipe SPIRALS de l’INRIA-Lille.
  • Notre mission

Le LATECE a pour objectif de recherche de développer des modèles, des techniques, des outils et des langages pour la conception métier, le développement logiciel, le déploiement, et l’exploitation d’applications sur Internet fonctionnelles, innovatrices, efficientes,  performantes, sécuritaires et socialement responsables.

Le LATECE se donne trois mandats complémentaires :
  • L’avancement des sciences et des technologies de l’Internet par la recherche subventionnée, autant fondamentale qu’appliquée, impliquant des créateurs et utilisateurs de telles applications.
  • La formation de personnel hautement qualifié dans les technologies de l’Internet : le LATECE regroupe présentement plus d’une centaine d’étudiant-e-s et stagiaires aux trois cycles d’études, qui acquièrent des compétences techniques de pointe, et une sensibilité aux enjeux multidisciplinaires sous-jacents.
  • La diffusion des connaissances, à travers une série de conférences publiques et un congrès international récurrent sur les technologies de l’Internet (International MCETECH Conference on eTechnologies, voir www.mcetech.org).
  • Nos valeurs :
Bien que nous œuvrions dans un domaine éminemment technique, nous disposons d’une certaine liberté dans, i) le choix des problèmes que nous tentons de résoudre, ii) le choix d’approches de solution, et iii) le choix des modalités de diffusion des résultats.
  • Science et conscience[1]: L’internet touche tous les aspects de notre vie quotidienne et gère l’essentiel de nos interactions sociales et d’affaires. Qu’on le veuille ou non, nos recherches contribuent directement ou indirectement aux impacts positifs ou négatifs, potentiels ou actuels, des applications de l’internet, et soulèvent des questions sociales et éthiques (sécurité, confidentialité, surveillance, profilage, etc.). Nous reconnaissons ces dimensions, et les abordons dans certaines de nos recherches.
  • Logiciel libre: Dans nos recherches, nous utilisons une panoplie d’outils logiciels autant commerciaux que des prototypes de recherche développés un peu partout dans le monde. Nous croyons profondément en le modèle de développement à code ouvert, et nous cherchons à y contribuer, lorsque les conditions rattachées à nos subventions et contrats de recherche le permettent.
  • Ancré dans son milieu, ouvert sur le monde: une valeur UQAMienne, que nous prenons à cœur. Au LATECE nous travaillons à tisser des liens autant avec les créateurs des applications de l’internet (entreprises innovantes en TIC, allant de start-ups à des multinationales avec présence R&D au Québec), que leurs utilisateurs, qui souvent des organismes publics ou parapublics (Héritage Canada, Ville de Montréal, hôpitaux, etc.), à Montréal, au Québec, au Canada, et à l’étranger. Nous comptons parmi nos partenaires passés et actuels de recherche, la compagnie XEROX PARC aux États Unis, et a Conférence des Nations Unis sur le Commerce et le Développement (CNUCED, www.unctad.org).
  • Comité exécutif
   
    Jean Privat  Directeur adjoint        Hafedh Mili         Directeur      Wessam Ajib   Directeur adjoint

[1] » Science sans conscience n’est que ruine de l’âme » – Rabelais