Research Topics List:

The Internet is present in all spheres of activity of modern society. It became the ideal way for distributing information and deliver services. Varieties of applications, ranging from e-business to e-government, through distance learning and telemedicine, meet real needs and are revolutionizing our daily lives. Communication applications have also revolutionized our social space by redefining the way humans interact, and by defining new unseen social structures. Our daily use of e-commerce and social media applications, or even our simple whereabouts (while carrying our smartphone), are generating a tremendous amount of data that can reveal a lot about our habits, needs, desires, and even opinions. Various organisations can or could go through all this data, with the aim of, for instance, improving a transportation network, optimize product placement on store shelves in order to increase sales, or prevent fraudulent activites. However, one needs to know what to look where, where to look for it, and how to find it in an efficient manner. We must also address the problem posed by data confidentiality, the respect of private life, and the ethical issues of profiling, in order to aknowledge them and maybe contribute to the solution.

Hence, the problem of design and implementation of web applications is:

1) Actual, as much in our everyday life as the advancement of research works;

2) Multidisciplinary, implementing several disciplinary fields as computer science (eg, software engineering, telecommunications, artificial intelligence), mathematics (eg. data mining), management sciences (business processes modeling, marketing), social psychology (customer experience management), sociology (social issues raised by profiling and big data), and communications (social networks);

3) Unifying: Our problem requires an integrated approach to certain problems disciplinary that raises new challenges in these disciplines, and creates new opportunities. An example is the Semantic Web, which combines concepts for knowledge representation in distributed applications, or contextual applications, i.e., mobile commerce, which require an integrated approach with the aspects of artificial intelligence, distribution, security, and databases.

Liste des thématiques de recherche:

Les applications sur Internet sont présentes dans toutes les sphères d’activité de la société moderne. Elles sont devenues le moyen idéal pour distribuer l’information et livrer des services. Diverses applications, allant des affaires électroniques au gouvernement en ligne, en passant par le télé-apprentissage et la télémédecine, répondent à des besoins importants et révolutionnent nos schémas de production et de consommation au quotidien. Des applications de communication ont aussi révolutionné notre espace social, en redéfinissant la nature et les média d’interactions entre humains, et en définissant de nouvelles structures sociales inédites. Notre utilisation quotidienne des applications de commerce électronique, de médias sociaux, voire même nos simples déplacements avec notre téléphone intelligent en poche, génèrent une quantité phénoménale de données qui regorgent de révélations sur nos habitudes, nos besoins, nos désirs, voire même nos opinions. Diverses organisations peuvent ou pourraient fouiller ces données, dans le but, par exemple, de mieux planifier le réseau de transport, mieux placer les produits sur les tablettes pour en augmenter les ventes, ou nous prémunir contre le clonage de notre carte de crédit. Encore faut-il que l’on sache quoi chercher, où chercher, et comment le trouver de façon efficace. On doit aussi se pencher sur les problèmes de confidentialité de données, de respect de la vie privée, et sur les enjeux éthiques du profilage pour en prendre conscience et peut-être contribuer à leur solution.

Partant, la problématique de la conception et de la mise en oeuvre d’applications internet est :

1) Actuelle, autant pour notre vie de tous les jours que pour notre travail de chercheurs;

2) Multidisciplinaire, mettant en oeuvre plusieurs domaines disciplinaires : informatique (génie logiciel, télécommunications, intelligence artificielle), mathématiques (fouille de données), sciences de la gestion (gestion de processus d’affaires, marketing), et psychologie sociale (gestion de l’expérience client), sociologie (réseaux sociaux, enjeux sociaux du profilage/big data) et communications (médias sociaux)

3) Fédératrice : exigeant une approche intégrée de certaines problématiques. Par exemple, la gestion de l’expérience du consommateur, combine des problématiques en psychologie, en marketing, en fouille de données, en mobilité, et en génie logiciel.